Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Section:  Operator Guide
Topic:  Preparing for Physical Inventory

Procedure Number:  09-106


Summary

This guide teaches how to prepare for a physical inventory within DoveTrack. Within the guide, you will learn how to clear any outstanding transactions not completed by carousel operators that would lead to inaccurate physical inventory records.


Procedure

The three steps that must be completed, to ensure all pending transactions are cleared, are as follows:

  1. Force Completed Orders
  2. Clean up "R" locations
  3. Clear consolidation locations

1. Force Complete all active orders.

It is important that all orders are processed before the creation of physical inventory records. By performing this task, any unprocessed active orders are completed.

  1. To Force Complete all the active orders, click on Supervisor from the Main Menu.
  2. Click on Force Complete Orders

Figure 1.

  1. A "Force Complete Orders" window will open up.
  2. All the unprocessed orders should be listed to the left of the menu (as shown in the picture below)
  3. Select an order and then click on Force Complete
  4. Complete this step for all the orders until done.
  5. When all orders are complete, click on Cancel to exit.

Figure 2.

2. Clean Up "R" Locations

By performing this task the inventory levels that are currently in the specified "R" location are changed to zero. All the inventory in the "R" location is cleared out. DoveTrack does not queue cycle counts for inventory locations.

  1. To clean up the "R" locations for active orders one at a time, click on Supervisor from the Main Menu.
  2. Click on Clean Up R Locations

Figure 3.

  1. A "Clean Up R Locations" window should open up.
  2. The "R" Locations should be listed to the left side of the window (As shown in the picture below)
  3. Click on the "R" Location and press enter.

Figure 4.

  1. A window will pop up, which says, "This will change inventory levels. Are you sure?" Select Yes
  2. Repeat this step for all the "R" locations until you are done.
  3. Click on Cancel to close the window.
  4. To clear all the "R" locations at one time, click on Cleanup All R Locations
  5. A window will pop up, which says, "This will change inventory levels. Are you sure?" Select Yes
  6. Click on Cancel to close the window once complete.

Figure 5.

3. Clear Consolidation Locations

The purpose for this task:
1) To clear On Hold items.
2) To correct system data for items pulled that were NOT entered into the system.

  1. Click on Consolidation.
  2. In the drop down menu click on Consolidation Locations. A new window will open.

Figure 6.

  1. If the item is NOT physically there, select the order number.
  2. Click on Deassign Location.
  3. When tasks are completed click Cancel to exit.

Figure 7.

  1. If the item is physically there, click on the order number.
  2. Click on Pull All Locns.
  3. When tasks are completed click Cancel to exit.

Figure 8.


Glossary

"R" Location: Phantom location used to hold parts.

Cycle Count: Queue a location for inventory to be counted.

Labels
  • None